I took on the name buzzkill about 4 years ago when a once great television network called Tech TV was killed by it’s new owner Comcast. I was angry and felt cheated when they canceled all the great technology shows. I got kicked out of the chat rooms under my original chat name, so I took on the name buzzkill as a symbolic gesture to let people know they were not going to get happy talk out of me. Although I stopped the sort of activities that got me booted by the moderators the first time around, I did maintain a constant level of surliness in my dialogue when speaking of the changes to the network now called G4. The experience was cathartic. I made myself an annoyance. A “troll” if you will. I don’t think I was a true Internet troll in the strictest sense of the word. A true troll creates discourse just for their own entertainment and believe me, I was not entertained. I wanted to kill the buzz the Comcasters were feeling at gaining their latest acquisition because they had destroyed yet another technology network. Like a serial killer looking for similar traits in their victims, they had purchased Jones Intercable in 1998 which operated a network called Mind Extension University or ME/U for short. There were many great programs on that network. Like Tech TV, it entertained and educated. Now both of them have faded to black.

My late mother once said to me that out of everything bad that happens, comes something good. With reference to the above story, the thing that was good for me and many others was that the people that made Tech TV great moved on to start their own IPTV networks like Leo Laporte’s TWIT TV and Kevin Rose’s Revision 3 and Digg. This was great for them and for me because they are now doing their own thing in their own way and they are moving in directions the monolithic network environment would not have allowed them to go.

Speaking of monoliths, how bout’ them Big Three auto makers going down the tubes? If my statement seems callous, forgive me. I don’t relish the thought of tens or hundreds of thousands of people losing their jobs. I come from a family where I was at one time expected to be employed at General Motors. Many members of my family worked there. My own brother’s retirement is in jeopardy. No joy there. The heady days of Motown have come to an end as the arrogance of the once proud automakers wring their hands and wonder how it all ended. I can almost hear them now saying, ‘How could this happen? We gave the public everything we told them they wanted!’ I could go on and on about the last 60 years of broken promises that came in the form of prototype concept cars that we really wanted only to be disappointed by their shoe box designs. I could talk about their promises to produce cars with better fuel efficiency and only making incremental progress decade after decade. But what would be the point? That ground has been trampled clean of all signs of life by many others before me so I shall forego those subjects.

So where is the good in all of this evil? If any can be found, it must be in the fact that the demise of the Big Three opens the way for start-up automobile companies like Aptera. Before the demise of the large automakers, I had only a little hope for the Aptera. My reason is that the Big Three have had a long history of smashing the little guy. They effectively killed Tucker Mobile and did everything in their power to beat down Robert Kearns, the man who invented the intermittent windshield wiper, to name two examples. However, monoliths suffer from one major flaw, which is they are as heavy and hard to maneuver as large stones like the term implies. And, once they have been set upon a down-hill course, very little can be done to stop them and the end is usually catastrophic.

Now that the top of the hill is clearing, the smaller younger kids can play up there while the older bigger kids whine at the bottom while clutching their bruised knees and egos. Aptera is one of the front runners to get up that hill. The bullies aren’t paying attention now and won’t be for some time. Now is the time for Aptera and company to make their move.

